main page of Miniature TradingMiniature Trading

The safest place to trade, buy, and sell miniatures

miniature review Captain Whitebeard: You better watch out, you better not cry.

TIP Maintain your whole miniature collection inventory on this site. Together with your haves, you can also manage your private miniature collection and keep everything in a single place.
Miniature Review
Captain Whitebeard: click to enlarge
Captain Whitebeard

Miniature text:

This ship may move and shoot using the same move action. Once per turn this ship's controller may choose another ship and bellow "HO-HO-HO!" Any crew on the target falls asleep, and so the target loses her next turn.

Whitebeard's Raiders: This ship's controller must, at the beginning of each turn and if his ship has available cargo capacity, load one treasure from his or her collection onto this ship. In games played on December 24, this ship gains unlimited base move and cargo capacity.

Link: Sleigh.

  • Collector's Number: HH05b
  • Faction Affiliation: Whitebeard's Raiders
  • Rarity: PR
  • Type: Crew
  • Point Value: 12
Captain Whitebeard
You better watch out, you better not cry.

written by wapcaplets Premium Member LV57
Share |

General description:
As I said in my review about the Sleigh, this is quite possibly the coolest promotional crew I've ever seen. For those who don't know, this crew was part of a ship/crew combo with the Sleigh that was given to WizKids envoys as a "thank you" during the Christmas season of 2005.


Uses:
The stats and abilities of this crew are totally out of balance, game-wise, but they're meant as a good-natured joke.

Strategies and game play:
Again... the Sleigh & Captain Whitebeard were pretty much a Christmas-themed joke a la "Magic Unhinged." Have fun with them but don't consider them serious ships for sanctioned play.

Combos with other miniatures:
Captain Whitebeard was custom-made to be use on Sleigh. What else are you going to do with him? Use him as a 12-point crew that does nothing to sacrifice to Captain Blackbeard?

Ways to counteract it:
Assuming Whitebeard is on the Sleigh, the only way to really get rid of him is to use ships/crew that eliminate crew when they ram/become pinned.

Strengths/Pros:
- Functions as a normal Captain
- Can disable any ship with crew for a turn

Weaknesses/Cons:
Expensive but, again, it's not a "serious" card.

Artwork and aesthetics:
Santa in a pirate hat? Who wouldn't love that?

Overall rating:
I give Whitebeard a 10. Just a hilarious Christmas treat.

 

Modified on October 30, 2011 09:26 am



Rating
Current score for this Miniature Review, based on 14 votes:
 3.36
You can rate this Miniature Review here:
was it useful for you? is it informative, and complete?
Please rate the review's quality of information (not the miniature), and do it only after carefully reading it. Votes for any other, biased reason are not acceptable.
Enter a comment and choose your rating:

 



Discussion about this Miniature Review
Add your comments
Author Message
mastercommander
United States

Avatar for mastercommander
Subject:    Posted: December 22, 2009 02:41 pm Reply with quote Report content icon

Dude, I love C. Whitebeard! However, I would say that you CAN use him for sanctioned play.

(Just kidding of course. )
Back to top Modified on May 12, 2010 12:43 pm 
lordstu
LV40 Canada send message

Avatar for lordstu
Member since
October 15, 2008
Subject:    Posted: May 12, 2010 02:50 pm Reply with quote Report content icon

This was not that really that good of a review - the only thing I really learned was...Well, actually, I didn't really learn anything from it, so I guess that proves my point.

Maybe the review of the Sleigh stole ol' Whitey's thunder...
Back to top  
woelf Premium Member
LV47 United States send message

Avatar for woelf
Member since
November 10, 2008
Subject:    Posted: May 14, 2010 09:28 am Reply with quote Report content icon


quote from lordstu:
Maybe the review of the Sleigh stole ol' Whitey's thunder...
The Sleigh review wasn't much better.

Even though they're not legal in normal games, if you're going to take the time to "review" them you need to actual review them, don't just keep repeating that it's a promo and isn't meant for normal games.

I'm giving this a "virtual" 1-bomb, because actually rating it would give it the tenth vote needed to become eligible for a MotW and that single rating wouldn't be enough to pull it below the 3.00 threshold.
Back to top  
rizz
LV38 United States send message

Avatar for rizz
Member since
June 11, 2008
Subject:    Posted: May 14, 2010 11:08 am Reply with quote Report content icon

Well I am confused as to how my vote would have ended up a 5 on a skeleton of a review. I musta either been too sleepy and clicked bad, or I had been hitting the rum. One of the two.
Back to top  
woelf Premium Member
LV47 United States send message

Avatar for woelf
Member since
November 10, 2008
Subject:    Posted: September 14, 2010 08:50 am Reply with quote Report content icon


quote from woelf:
I'm giving this a "virtual" 1-bomb, because actually rating it would give it the tenth vote needed to become eligible for a MotW and that single rating wouldn't be enough to pull it below the 3.00 threshold.

Since this has been dragged back to the top and given its tenth rating, it's now safe to give it the "real" 1 that it has earned.
Back to top  
lordstu
LV40 Canada send message

Avatar for lordstu
Member since
October 15, 2008
Subject:    Posted: February 12, 2011 04:26 am Reply with quote Report content icon

Trust me, there's nothing to see here, folks!
Back to top Modified on February 18, 2011 01:10 pm 
wapcaplets Premium Member
LV57 Canada send message

Avatar for wapcaplets
Member since
March 30, 2005
Subject:    Posted: February 12, 2011 05:17 am Reply with quote Report content icon


quote from lordstu:

With a rating under 3.5, this one did well to make it to MotW - just another example of the arcane methods the site uses to make the pick each week. Oh, well, at least the premium membership went to someone who is still here...sort of.


Come on, guys. The webmaster puts so much work into maintaining this site and providing a great service there's no need for public kvetching like this. He's not getting rich off of this site and is desiging & maintaining it in his spare time. Give him a break and focus on the overwhelming majority of positive aspects of this site.
Back to top  
dakmor
LV16 United States send message

Avatar for dakmor
Member since
July 14, 2010
Subject:    Posted: February 12, 2011 09:58 am Reply with quote Report content icon

im upset it won. its a non-tourney-legal piece. and the review wasn't even that good.

remember you're rating the review , not the piece itself.
Back to top  
lordstu
LV40 Canada send message

Avatar for lordstu
Member since
October 15, 2008
Subject:    Posted: February 14, 2011 05:00 am Reply with quote Report content icon

Still nothing to see here, people!
Back to top Modified on February 18, 2011 01:13 pm 
Add your comments
Page 1 of 1  
Search: